Taking Time…

11312792_10152913921027951_5178988631752978375_o

I’m going to be honest with you all…

I struggle with taking the time to break away from my hectic life, and just sit in the blissful life God has given me.

Maybe it comes with the everyday life mom’s tend to lead.  We get so consumed with the things that have to get done, that we constantly have that ‘go, go, go’ frame of mind.  Tell me I’m not the only one who’s mind is on overload with these types of things, “I’ve got to get the kitchen cleaned, laundry done, everybody needs to eat, did I forget something?  It feels like I forgot something?  Was the dog fed? What about the cat? Did I eat?”

For me, I work part time outside of the home.  So, when I get home, my shoes don’t typically come off until after the kids are ready for bed.  As soon as I walk through the door, to the kitchen I go.  Cleaning dishes and cooking dinner.  Making sure the kids are behaving and getting ready for bed.

All of these things, I think contribute to my anxiety, but I’ve grown accustom to it.  So, now when I do finally ‘relax’ and take time my mind doesn’t want to shut down and do what I want.

I’m ready to spend more TIME with my kids.  I’m not talking the, going here and going there, kind of time.  But, just time to sit and talk.  To love on one another.  We do, of course, but not enough.

Something I read a while ago really struck a cord with me – it went something like, “our children are only children for 18 years, then they have 60+ years to be an adult.”

When I think about that, it makes me sad.  It’s so true.  We only have such a short amount of time to spend with our children while they are young.  I don’t ever want my babies to grow up!!  There will come a time when, they don’t want to snuggle with us parents anymore.  I’m not ready for that time.

So, I’ve decided it’s time to take time and be with them.  In the moment.  In every moment I possibly can.  I took time away from reading this last year.  In an effort to get my son to read more, I decided I’ll take time and read with him.  Even if it’s him reading his book, and me reading mine.  We’ll be making sweet memories that will last a lifetime.  When my daughter wants to brush my hair, by golly, I’m going to let her brush my hair!

Has there been a time when you thought to yourself, I need to take time ?  Maybe you’re a mom who has been where I am.  You may even be the boss, and you need to take time to listen to your employees.  You might even be a student, and it’s time to take time and remember, it’s OK to relax and take time.

I’m going to be linking up to the “NOTHING HOLDING ME BACK” link up party!

2 thoughts on “Taking Time…

  1. 60 or so years to be an adult?!? You’re right…that stings a little. My boys are 6 and 4, going on 16! We’ve had a wonderful summer, but it’s FLOWN by. My 6-year-old is back to school already on Tuesday. What a great reminder to slow down, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

